JavaScript for Beginners
About Lesson

Over the years, JavaScript has evolved through various versions, each introducing new features and improvements. Here’s a simple guide to some of the major JavaScript versions.


ECMAScript 5 (ES5)

ES5 was released in 2009 and is supported by all modern browsers. It introduced several new features, including:

  • strict mode: This helps catch common coding mistakes and “unsafe” actions.
  • Accessor properties: Getters and setters allow you to define object properties that are backed by user-defined functions.
  • New array methods: These include forEach()map()filter(), and more.


ECMAScript 2015 (ES6)

ES6, also known as ECMAScript 2015, was a major update to JavaScript and introduced many new features, such as:

  • let and const: These provide block scope variable declarations.
  • Arrow functions: These offer a new syntax for writing JavaScript functions.
  • Promises: These provide a way to handle asynchronous operations.
  • Classes: These provide a simpler syntax for creating objects and dealing with inheritance.


ECMAScript 2016 (ES7) and Beyond

Each subsequent version of ECMAScript has added new features to the language, although not as many as ES6. Some notable additions include:

  • async/await: Introduced in ES8 (2017), this syntax provides a more straightforward way to work with Promises.
  • Rest/spread operators: Introduced in ES9 (2018), these operators provide a way to work with multiple elements in arrays and objects.